NCDDR Update: An e-bulletin of The National Center for the Dissemination of Disability Research. SEDL, Advancing Research, Improving Education: Funded by the U.S. Department of Education
July 2008

NCDDR Services Designed for All NIDRR Grantees

Person in a wheelchair using a laptop computerThe National Center for the Dissemination of Disability Research (NCDDR) is here to help as you face challenges in designing and conducting research and to provide support in your efforts to make certain your findings make a difference in the lives of people with disabilities.

Peer Consultant Service Online
NCDDR’s Peer Consultant Service is available to answer your questions around research design, methodology, or quality. Any NIDRR grantee may submit a question to the service online as long as it is focused on one of the stages of knowledge development:
1) Discoveries and descriptions
2) Theories, measures, and methods
3) Interventions, products or devices, and environmental adaptations

Learn more about the Peer Consultant Service Web page at http://www.ncddr.org/services/pcs/index.html.

Here you will find a request form to submit a question. Responses will be completed by e-mail, though in some instances a phone consultation may be necessary.

An archive of questions and answers is maintained online so others may learn from your query as well. Past inquiries have focused on issues around systematic reviews, finding validated assessment instruments, and data related to transition age youth with disabilities.

To learn about other technical assistance services for NIDRR grantees, see http://www.ncddr.org/services

RESOURCES

Library of Knowledge Translation Resources (KT Library)

Visit the NCDDR Web site for related resources.

 Screenshot of Knowledge Translation (KT) Library Inquiring minds want to know how to measure knowledge translation (KT) outcomes or learn more about knowledge value mapping, standards of evidence, or many other topics related to KT.

NCDDR’s KT Library http://www.ncddr.org/ktinfocenter/ offers access to and descriptions of useful resources related to KT. The online library provides brief abstracts of articles and publications and brief descriptions of other resources, such as online training and online registries. Articles and publications have been ranked by NCDDR staff as to the strength of the evidence presented, consumer orientation, and readability level.

EVENTS

Diversity and Research Outreach: Don’t Forget to Register for Upcoming Webcast

Photo of James S. Krause
James Krause, PhD

On Wednesday, July 30, 2008 the NCDDR will host a webcast entitled Racial/Ethnic and Gender Disparities in Health Outcomes of Persons with Spinal Cord Injury. The webcast is designed to share knowledge about the involvement of under-represented groups in research studies and strategies for effective outreach to diverse populations.

The presenters are James S. Krause, PhD, Karla Reed, and Jennifer Coker, MPH, from the NIDRR-funded Field Initiated Project: Participation, Subjective Well-Being, Health, and Spinal Cord Injury: A 35-Year Longitudinal Study.

The 90-minute webcast will begin at 3:00 p.m. Eastern time; 2:00 p.m. Central; 1:00 p.m. Mountain; 12:00 p.m. Pacific; 11:00 a.m. Alaska; and 9:00 a.m. Hawaii.

Register for the Webcast (no fee to participate): https://vovici.com/wsb.dll/s/12291g34d47

This webcast is presented in collaboration with the Independent Living Research Utilization (ILRU) program. Please visit this site ahead of time to test and ensure your computer is configured and updated to participate in the webcast. View instructions on how to access a webcast. For technical assistance, please check out the FAQs at http://www.ilru.org/html/training/webcasts/FAQ.html [dead link]. You may also call 713-520-0232 (v/tty). If you would like to send questions before or during the webcast, please e-mail: webcast@ncddr.org

You are receiving this NCDDR Update because you are on the NCDDR's mailing list.

Questions or comments should be directed to:

National Center for the Dissemination of Disability Research
SEDL
4700 Mueller Blvd.
Austin, TX 78723
Phone: 800-266-1832
Fax: 512-476-2286
E-mail: ncddr@sedl.org


Return to the NCDDR Update Archive